Monday, February 23, 2015

The Swinging Blue Jeans - Complete LP Part 2

Live aus dem Cascade Beat Club in Köln is one of the rarest albums by a hit British Invasion band released near the peak of its popularity. Its existence is unknown even to most Swinging Blue Jeans fans, and the material doesn't even appear on the otherwise thorough four-CD set of their 1960s recordings, Good Golly, Miss Molly! The EMI Years 1963-1969. Does that mean it's worth the hunt? Quite possibly not, though it's not without its merits. First, at least some of it sounds like it was recorded in the studio and subjected to some dubbing of live audience noise. In fact, a few of the tracks are definitely overdubbed versions of recordings that found official release as studio cuts. There are, however, a few songs that they didn't put on any other release in the 1960s, those being covers of "Kansas City," "Johnny B. Goode," Roger Miller's "King of the Road" and "Chug-a-Lug," Glenn Miller's "In the Mood" done Merseybeat style, and, even odder, the Beatles' "Eight Days a Week." "Tutti Frutti," "Shakin' Feeling," and "Good Golly Miss Molly" are sung in German, but these are obviously the studio recordings the Swinging Blue Jeans released for the German market overdubbed with live ambient noise. Of the songs not available elsewhere, actually the group does attack these with vigor, especially "Johnny B. Goode." In all, however, it has to be considered a very peripheral item, even for big Swinging Blue Jeans/Merseybeat enthusiasts. 
LP  Live aus dem Cascade Beat Club in Kцln - 1965
1 - Kansas City
2 - Johnny Be Good
3 - Tutti Frutti
4 - Eight Days A Week
5 - Chug A Lug
6 - I've Got A Girl
7 - King Of The Road
8 - Long Tall Sally
9 - Good Golly Miss Molly
10 - In The Mood
11 - Das ist prima

LP  Don't Make Me Over  - 1966
12 - I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry
13 - Gotta Draw The Line
14 - I'm Gonna Have You
15 - I Don't Belive It
16 - Nobody But Me
17 - You Don't Love Me
18 - I Want Love
19 - Jump Back
20 - Chug A Lug
21 - This Boy
22 - Do You Believe In Magic
23 - Don't Make Me Over


Everyone who knows the blog "Old Melodies" or earlier "Wings of Dream" for many years,knows that there are large archives of music here since 2007 ... 98% of the links up to 2015 are dead. I will gradually be engaged in their recovery. This takes a very long time, so the answers to requests will be minimal and in no way will be accepted from anonymous users. I spend a very long time on my uploads. Please,find a couple of seconds to sign your comment or message. I hope for understanding...