Friday, February 22, 2008

Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich - Best Of

Artist: Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich
Album: Best Of
Year: 2001
Genre: PopRock
Format: Mp3\320 kbs\130 Mb
This was not the only sixties group to have a silly name - Creedence Clearwater Revival was another that immediately comes to mind - and it didn't stop them making some upbeat, guitar-based rock music of really quality. It seems that they failed to make any impact in America, but they had thirteen hits in their native Britain between 1966 and 1969, many going high in the top ten.
Their only number one hit was The legend of Xanadu, but Zabadak reached number two while Save me, Bend it and Hold tight all reached number four. All these hits plus all their lesser hits and a few misses are included here.
Although most (but not all) of the songs are upbeat, fun songs, there is a remarkable variety of styles within this collection. Dave Dee Dozy Beaky Mick and Tich may well be the best British group of the sixties to fail in America. Although not up to the standard of the Beatles or the Rolling
01. The Legend Of Xanadu
02. Don Juan
03. Okay!
04. Zabadak!
05. Bend It
06. Wreck Of The Antoinette
07. Save Me
08. Mr. President
09. Hold Tight
10. Touch Me, Touch Me
11. Nose For Trouble
12. We've Got A Good Thing Goin'
13. I'm On The Up
14. Snake In The Grass
15. Hideaway
16. Master Llewellyn
17. Marina
18. You Make It Move
19. Last Night In Soho
20. All I Want To Do
21. If I Were A Carpenter
22. Hard To Love You
23. No Time
24. My Woman's Man
25. Hands Off

John Lennon's original Quarrymen - Get Back - Together

Artist: Quarrymen
Album: Get Back - Together
Year: 1997
Genre: Rock\Skiffle
Format: Mp3\320 kbs\70 Mb
Pete Shotton - washboard, bassLen Garry - vocals, guitarEric Griffiths - guitarRod Davis - vocals, guitarColin Hanton - drums

Yeah, yeah, yeah!Under the title "John Lennon's Original Quarrymen Get Back - Together", the CD contains fifteen tracks recreated from their 1957 Quarrymen repertoire. Recorded in Liverpool in 1997, the tracks on the CD are from Jerry Lee Lewis, Elvis, Gene Vincent, Carl Perkins, Lonnie Donegan and other Quarrymen heroes as follows: Mean Woman Blues - Midnight Special - Blue Moon of Kentucky - I forgot to remember to forget - Whole lotta shakin' - Pick a bale of Cotton - That's all right, Mama - Blue Suede Shoes - When the sun goes down - Don't be cruel - You're right, I'm left, she's gone - Bebop-a-Lula - Have I told you lately that I love you - Twenty flight rock - Lost John

John Lennon's original Quarrymen - Get Back - Together
1. Mean Woman Blues
2. Midnight Special
3. Blue Moon Of Kentucky
4. I Forgot To Remember To Forget
5. Whole Lotta Shakin'
6. Pick A Bale Of Cotton
7. That's All Right Mama
8. Blue Suede Shoes
9. When The Sun Goes Down
10. Don't Be Cruel
11. You're Right I'm Left She's Gone
12. Bebop-A-Lula
13. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You?
14. Twenty Flight Rock
15. Lost John

Friday, February 15, 2008

The Paramounts – pre Procol Harum

Artist: The Paramounts
Album: Whiter Shades Of R’N’B
Release Date: 1983
Label: Edsel, Demon
Time: 36:59
Genre: Rock
Styles: R&B, Brit Beat
Format: mp3 320 FLAC + CUE + LOG (cover in)
Size: 81,7 Mb 95,7 + 67,3 Mb (RAR, 3% recovery)
"I first saw The Paramounts in 1962 in a low-key hop in a Leigh-on-Sea community hall. At this time, most groups in the Southend area were playing the songs from the current hit parade as required in the local dance halls. However, this group was not churning out Bobby Vee or Shadows tunes; I was to hear strange songs about 'Peanut Butter' and about 'Three Cool Cats' intermingled with familiar, but unfashionable rockers gleaned from records by Jerry Lee Lewis and Little Richard. The group's line-up comprised the regular lead guitar, bass, and drums; but instead of the usual rhythm guitar, the vocalist was utilising the hall's old piano, a mike thrust into the top. Even more unusual was the small gathering of unofficial 'backing vocalists' clustered around the stage. Their chants were lending response to those opening shouts of the US Bonds song 'New Orleans'; their unison of wails constituted the chorus of that incredible song about 'Peanut Butter'. On asking one of the choristers about the band, I was informed that The Paramounts were resident at The Shades Cellar Club on Sunday nights." MORE:
Gary Brooker – piano, vocals (1-2-3-4)
Robin Trower – guitar (1-2-3-4)
Chris Copping – bass (1-2-3)
Mick Brownlee – drums (1-2)
Bob Scott – vocals (1
)Barry J. Wilson – drums (3-4)
Diz Derrick – bass (4)
1. Poison Ivy (Leiber, Stoller) - 2:09
2. I Feel Good All Over (Blackwell, Scott) - 2:11
3. Little Bitty Pretty One (Byrd) - 2:15
4. A Certain Girl (Neville) - 2:11
5. I'm the One Who Loves You (Mayfield) - 2:07
6. It Won't Be Long (Brooker, Trower) - 2:02
7. Bad Blood (Leiber, Stoller) - 2:03
8. Do I (Williams) - 2:04
9. Blue Ribbons (DeShannon, Sheeley) - 2:22
10. Cuttin' In (Watson) - 2:43
11. You Never Had It So Good (Sloan) - 2:53
12. Doncha Like My Love (Brooker, Trower) - 2:15
13. Draw Me Closer (Carroll, Payne) - 1:56
14. Turn on Your Love Light (Malone, Scott) - 2:21
15. You've Got What I Want (Dallon) - 1:56
16. Freedom (Mingus) - 3:22
!!!! Pass: first – ship; second – kandykorn !!!!!