Friday, December 11, 2009

VA-Teenage Shutdown - Teen Jangler Blowout! vol.9

Teenage Shutdown: Teen Jangler Blowout!, subtitled "Cool Teen Clang N' Jangle Lowdown," collects tuneful jangle rock and garage punk from 1966 and 1967. According to the liner notes by Mike "Moptop" Markesich (whose singles collection provided many of the 45s used by Crypt Records' honcho, Tim Warren, for the entire Teenage Shutdown compilation series), this disc contains "100 percent teenage clang 'n' jangle that swings from start to finish, resurrecting a lotta killers from out-of-print and inferior-soundin' comps, with a few makin' their compilation debut." Markesich mentions this, no doubt, because there are a lot of repeats from the previously issued Highs in the Mid-Sixties series. However, as he points out, the Teenage Shutdown collections have a sound quality far superior to previous releases with the same tracks. Warren reportedly transferred the tunes, with minimal EQing, from the original mono vinyl slabs onto analog reels by using a "30,000 dollar turntable sporting a 3,500 dollar needle." The CD booklet -- which features just three black-and-white band photos, including the cover cats the JuJus -- has minimal information on these regional groups, but there's well-researched info. here that you wouldn't expect to read anywhere else. The CD begins with a band called Berkeley, CA's the Answer, who waxed this single for the White Whale label in 1965 (a gig with the Turtles had led to them signing to the label). The Burgundy Runn are one of many groups in the Teenage Shutdown series hailing from the Southwest garage capitol of the U.S., Albuquerque, NM. "Just Won't Leave" was written by the youngest member of Stamford, CT's the Mad Hatters (he was 13 years old at the time). This band toured the New England area for a few years before splitting in the fall of 1966 as the members entered college. "Trip to New Orleans" is the B-side to the Bees' "Voices Green and Purple," which was released on the Liverpool label (Covina, CA) in October 1966, many, many years before the A-side would appear on Pebbles, Vol. 3 and Rhino's celebrated Nuggets: Original Artyfacts From the First Psychedelic Era 1965-1968 box set many years later. The Jackson Investment Company came from Lakeland, FL, another locale that provided a lot of the source material for these comps. As you might expect, Markesich reveals that the band's name came from an uncle who invested time and money in his nephew's group. The Fab Four -- from Kansas City, MO, not Liverpool, England -- had originally appeared on the Monsters of the Midwest, Vol. 1 compilation, which was previously only available on cassette. Most of the tracks here come from glorious monaural slabs of vinyl, however, and the care used here makes this one of the best-sounding comps in the entire Teenage Shutdown series.
Teen Jangler Blowout! [1998]

01. The Answer - I'll Be In [2:34]
02. The Burgundy Runn - Stop! [2:05]
03. Jack And The Beanstalks - So Many Times [2:25]
04. The Jackson Investment Co. - Not This Time [2:05]
05. The Kings Ransom - Shame [2:09]
06. The Mad Hatters - Just Won't Leave [3:25]
07. The JuJus - I'm Really Sorry [2:26]
08. The Fortune Seekers - Why I Cry [2:33]
09. The Bees - Trip To New Orleans [1:55]
10. The Sleepers - I Want A Love [2:34]
11. Young Aristocracy - Don't Lie [3:09]
12. Sir Michael And The Sounds - Can You [2:11]
13. Warden And His Fugitives - The World Ain't Changed [2:56]
14. The Jackson Investment Co. - What Can I Say [2:22]
15. The Zone 5 - I Cannot Lie [2:46]
16. Disillusioned Younger Generation - Who Do You Think You're Fooling [3:06]
17. The Fab Four - I'm Always Doing Something Wrong [3:01]

No comments:

Post a Comment

RULE : ANONYMOUS REQUESTS WITHOUT ANSWER ! Please,treat with understanding ...
All comments are moderated to avoid spam Other comments and requests must be fast published !