Wednesday, June 24, 2009

The Rocking Ghosts - The Complete Story 2 CD (1962-1970) Denmark

Danish rock band formed in the summer of 1962 by Svend Bonavent Larsen (dm), Tommy Petersen (org., piano) (both formerly played in Tommy's Band), Timm Bo Madsen (lead-g) and Jørgen Frederiksen (rythm-g). In May of 1963 Johnny Dyhrberg (el-b) replaced Tommy Petersen, and John Andersen (lead-vo) (ex The Sundowns) joined the band.

On January 28, 1964 the band won the Copenhagen championship in Rock at Nora Bio, which lead to a record deal with Metronome Records and producer Jørgen Ingmann. The instrumental debut album was called Vilja, Oh Vilja by Franz Léhar. Vocally the band broke through with their own Belinda that stayed on the charts for 13 months and was released in many European countries as well as the USA and Japan. During a trip to Bremen in April 1965, Johnny Dyhrberg left the band and was replaced by Kai Rose Petersen (el-b) and by the end of 1965 Bjørn Holte Jensen 
(rhythm-g) (ex The Ex-Checkers) replaced Jørgen Frederiksen. As the best selling album Oh, Oh What A Kiss, a rework of Johan Strauss' Über den Wellen, was a chart success in both 1966 and 1967.

In September 1967 the band decided to change their style to a more psychedelic flower power inspired pop sound, a change, however, Timm Bo Madsen and Kai Rose Petersen did not agree with and they consequently left the band.

They debuted with their new style at the Procul Harum concert in Tivoli. The new band recorded 2 singles for CBS Records with the following members: John Andersen, Svend Bonavent, Bjørn Holte, John Trefeldt (ex The Treffters), Fin Michael Musanti (rhythm-g, org) (ex The Playmakers) and Bent Hansen (el-b) (ex The Meteors).

The Rocking Ghosts were extremely popular in 1964-1967 and played, among other venues, at Giraffen, Enghaveparken, Hit House and Dansetten in Copenhagen, but their largest audience was primarily outside Copenhagen. The band also toured extensively in Germany, Austria, Italy, Sweden and Finland.

Musically and image wise the band was inspired by Cliff Richard & The Shadows' combination of vocal and instrumental rock & roll more than by the beat sound of the time. By changing their style in 1967 the band lost a lot of their fans who had a hard time accepting the new image and in the spring of 1969 the band split up.

Musically The Rocking Ghosts contributed to the following Danish movies in the 1960s: Jeg en elsker, Min søsters børn, Mig og min lillebror, Pigen fra Egeborg. Only the recordings from Min søsters børn were released as an album in 1966.

In 1964, using the name The Tigers, The Rocking Ghosts recorded a commercial record for the gas company ESSO.... Read More...
The Complete Story 1962-1970 
The Rocking Ghosts 

Audio CD (, 2004)
Disc: 1

01. Vilja Oh Vilja (singleversion)
02. Lady Of Spain 
03. Scotland The Brave 
04. Under The Bridges Of Paris 
05. I Want To Hold Your Hand 
06. In The Mood 
07. Hey, Hey, Hey, Hey, Hey
08. Jambalaya 
09. Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On 
10. Darling 
11. Vilja Oh Vilja (albumversion)
12. Shakin' All Over 
13. Sleep Walk 
14. Skinny Minny 
15. Tribute To Buddy Holly 
16. Pretend 
17. Slow Down 
18. Belinda (singleversion)
19. Ghost Walk (singleversion)
20. Kom En Tiger I Tanken 
21. Tiger Rag 
22. Don't Ha Ha (Don’t You Just Know It)
23. Annie Is Back 
24. 7-9-13 
25. Ol' Man Mose 
26. Ghost Walk (albumversion)
27. Who Put The Bomp 
28. Ferry Cross The Mersey 
29. Besame Mucho 
30. Ya, Ya Twist 
31. Nivram 
32. Belinda (albumversion)
33. Ticket To Ride 

Disc: 2

01. Don't Be Afraid Of Love 
02. Marianne 
03. Djengis Khan 
04. Take A Heart 
05. Heart By Heart 
06. Working After School
07. Fьr Elise 
08. Evergreen Tree 
09. Main Theme 
10. I'm Afraid To Go Home 
11. What Am I Living For 
12. Take Special Care 
13. Maria Elena 
14. Waiting For A Train 
15. Jazz Tears 
16. One More Time 
17. Oh Oh What A Kiss 
18. I Only Want To Be With You 
19. I Love You, I Love You 
20. Now Is The Hour 
21. There's A Difference 
22. Flower Man 
23. Gonna Cry 
24. Rock Around The Clock 
25. My Heart Still Shines 


26. Put Your Little Hand Together - 
- -. The New Ghosts 
27. Childhood Friend -
- -. The New Ghosts 
28. King-Kong 
29. Intro ved Palle Holgersen 
30. I Got You (I Feel Good) 

No comments:

Post a Comment

RULE : ANONYMOUS REQUESTS WITHOUT ANSWER ! Please,treat with understanding ...
All comments are moderated to avoid spam Other comments and requests must be fast published !