Thursday, November 19, 2020

Psychotic Reaction Count Five (Debut Album) 1966 + Bonus Tracks CD Version


Psychotic Reaction is the only studio album by the American garage rock band Count Five, released in October 1966, through Double Shot Records DSS5001.

It features the hit single “Psychotic Reaction”, number five on the Billboard charts in October 1966,and The Who covers, “My Generation” and "Out in the Street"


Previously to recording sessions, Count Five was rejected by several record labels before they got signed to the Los Angeles-based Double Shot Records in 1965. Double Shot was an independent label (active 1965-1972) owned by Harold "Hal" Winn and Joseph "Joe" Hooven, who were also songwriters and record producers.

The song "Psychotic Reaction" was released as a single, peaking at number 5 in the U.S. charts in late 1966, after its release in July 1966. To capitalize on the success of the single, Winn and Hooven at Double Shot immediately pressured the band to record a full-length album.

The songs' lyrics were written mostly by John "Sean" Byrne, and the music and vocals were recorded in a very short time, so deliberately included two covers of The Who band as filler songs, to complete a brief album of eleven tracks. Band members complained in later interviews that due to the hurried nature of the recording sessions, they never had the chance to shape the songs the way they wanted them to sound. The style of the album is fairly basic but effective, set to the rhythms and ways of garage rock.


With a low budget production and insufficient marketing, Psychotic Reaction peaked at number 122 on the Billboard 200. Other singles, released between 1966 and 1969, sold poorly and did not chart (some not included in the original LP).

The band enjoyed limited success for a short time, dropping out of view altogether when their only hit had fallen from public memory. Accordingly, Count Five had to break up in 1969, so its members could pursue college educations.

Track listing

All songs written by John Byrne, except where noted.

Double-Decker Bus – 2:00

Pretty Big Mouth (Byrne/Kenn Ellner/Roy Chaney/Craig Atkinson/ Mouse Michalski) – 2:07

The World – 2:12

My Generation (Townshend) – 2:27

She's Fine – 2:12

Psychotic Reaction (Ellner/Chaney/Atkinson/Byrne/Michalski) – 3:03

Peace of Mind (Byrne/Chaney/Michalski) – 2:19

They're Gonna Get You – 2:26

The Morning After – 1:57

Can't Get Your Lovin' - 1:47

Out in the Street (Townshend) – 2:28

Bonus tracks (only CD release)

Teeny Bopper, Teeny Bopper (Ellner/Chaney/Atkinson/Byrne/Michalski) – 2:22

You Must Believe Me (Mayfield) – 2:58

Contrast – 3:51

Merry-Go-Round – 2:37

Declaration of Independence (Ellner/Chaney/Atkinson/Byrne/Michalski) – 2:20

Revelation In Slow Motion (Patrick Briley) – 1:57

Mailman (Rodgers/Winn) – 2:22



John "Sean" Byrne - lead vocals, rhythm guitar

Kenn Ellner – lead vocals (tracks 4, 8, and 11), tambourine, harmonica

John "Mouse" Michalski – lead guitar

Craig "Butch" Atkinson – drums

Roy Chaney – bass guitar


Hal Winn – producer

Joseph Hooven – producer

Sy Mitchell – engineer

Bernard Yeszin – photography, design

Irwin Zucker – promotions director


Ty To Original Sharer

"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free"



  1. Thank you. There is a Count Five Reunion CD 1993 on rutracker.

  2. Oh, also the CD is there with more tracks than listed here.

  3. No, I guess the CD is the same as this post but lossless.

  4. Haven't heard this in years. Thank You!

  5. Hi ! Could you repost this one ?
    Many thanks !
    Great blog !


RULE : ANONYMOUS REQUESTS WITHOUT ANSWER ! Please,treat with understanding ...
All comments are moderated to avoid spam Other comments and requests must be fast published !

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...