Tuesday, March 10, 2020

The Trout - The Trout (1968)

"This obscure album by the Trout is actually quite good. The group was composed of the late Tony Romeo (best known as the writer of the hit songs "I Think I Love You" and others for the Partridge Family, "Indian Lake" by the Cowsills, and "I'm Gonna Make You Mine" by Lou Christie), his brother Frank Romeo, and Cassandra Morgan who later went on as a cast member and co-writer of the Broadway musical Pumpboys and Dinettes. This album, all composed and arranged by Tony Romeo, is an inspired pastiche of sunshine pop, folk rock, dreamy psychedelia, and a Vaudevillian touch (Cassandra Morgan's great solo vocal on "The Worst Day I've Been To" is reminiscent of Barbra Streisand's "Second Hand Rose"). There's also a jazz waltz ("Hushabye Wee Bobby") and a Baroque-style song in the style of the Swingle Singers ("Understanding Who I Am"). There are some very nice melodies here like the beautiful "November Song" (later recorded by Richard Harris on his superb concept album Slides, an album of songs written by Tony Romeo), and interesting collage effects as well as little interludes...." ~ Derrick Phillips

The Trout - The Trout (1968)

This album is partially lost me, unfortunately ... Saved only tracks:

02. -Fresh Water 
04. -Carnival Girl 
06. -November Song 
08. -Hushabye Wee Bobby 
09. -Yeah Yeah Yeah 
10. -Worse Day I've Been To 
11. -You Can't Hang On 
12. -Understanding Who I Am 

And I hope that someone can share the missing tracks with us

WANTED : The Trout - The Trout (1968)


  1. You're my sunshinepop pusher:)

  2. Great! Hope the missing tracks will show up. Thank you.

  3. here is the whole lp but it's only in 96 kpbs


  4. Here's the whole thing @320


    1. Any chance this version can be re-upped? Cheers!

  5. Easily Confused, thanks for posting Trout with alll the tracks in 320. I had a complete version in 192, I'm glad to get an upgrade. I have been searching for it for a few years. Thanks for taking the time to upload it here.

  6. Sadly some of the tracks (14) are only bwtween 160 and Kbs ....

    Regards - Peter

  7. Is the download still available on that site? I couldn't figure it out. Thanks in advance.


RULE : ANONYMOUS REQUESTS WITHOUT ANSWER ! Please,treat with understanding ...
All comments are moderated to avoid spam Other comments and requests must be fast published !