Saturday, February 15, 2020

The Rascals - Peaceful World & Island of Real (1971,1972)

Formed 1964 in New York, USA. 
Originally known as The Young Rascals, they later changed their name to The Rascals. 
Disbanded in 1972. 
Inducted into Rock And Roll Hall of Fame in 1997 


Peaceful World is a wonderful blend of soul, jazz, and funk that never found an audience. Perhaps it was because the positive sentiments expressed in the lyrics were unfortunately becoming passé; perhaps it was the diversity of the two-record set itself. Despite its lack of commercial success, this was an artistic triumph for Felix Cavaliere. With a supporting cast including jazz luminaries Joe Farrell, Hubert Laws, Alice Coltrane, and Ron Carter, Cavaliere creates a musical vision of the Peaceful World conjured up by the album's title. The single, "Love Me," which barely cracked the Hot 100, is a piece of funk in a Sly Stone vein. Guitarist Buzz Feiten's "In and Out of Love" is one of those shoulda-been-a-hit-single songs.

1. Sky Trane
2. In and out of Love
3. Bit of Heaven
4. Love Me
5. Mother Nature Land
6. Icy Water
7. Happy Song
8. Love Letter
9. Little Dove
10. Visit to Mother Nature Land
11. Getting Nearer
12. Peaceful World


Some of Felix Cavaliere's funkiest songs, Crusaders bassist Robert "Pops" Popewell, the Butterfield Blues Band horn section (with David Sanborn), soulful vocals and jazz solos combine to create another great but overlooked album by the Rascals. With a groove at times like Tower of Power, at others like latter-day Sly & the Family Stone, this, the band's final recording, is worth seeking out. 

1. Lucky Day
2. Saga of New York
3. Be on the Real Side
4. Jungle Walk
5. Brother Tree
6. Island of Real
7. Hummin' Song
8. Echoes
9. Buttercup
10. Time Will Tell
11. Lament

The Rascals - Peaceful World & Island of Real 

No comments:

Post a Comment

RULE : ANONYMOUS REQUESTS WITHOUT ANSWER ! Please,treat with understanding ...
All comments are moderated to avoid spam Other comments and requests must be fast published !